World Cultural Council Awards


The World Cultural Council (WCC), an international organization with headquarters in Mexico, will hold its 26th prestigious award ceremony at the University of Liège on November 25, 2009. This year, the WCC will be presenting the "Albert Einstein" World Award of Science and the "Leonardo da Vinci" World Award of Arts.

This is the second time that the World Cutural Council has chosen the University of Liège to host this international event.  In November 2004, the WCC came to ULg to bestow its awards, marking a first for a Belgian university.  

The 2009 prizewinners  have just been selected by the World Cultural Council.

HoughtonJohnSir John Houghton, former professor of atmospheric physics at Oxford University and a climate change specialist of international renown, will be the recipient of the Albert Einstein award.  As early as the 1960's, Prof. Houghton and his team at Oxford developed several pioneering remote sensing data techniques relating to the composition and structure of the earth's atmospheric temperature. He was head of the British Met Office until 1991 and co-chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change's scientific assessment working group from 1988 to 2002.  He also initiated the first IPCC reports in the 1990's, which had a significant impact on the discussions at the Rio and Kyoto Summits.  Sir John is currently a honorary member of the Hadley Centre for Climate Prediction and Research and Chairman of the John Ray Initiative.

JancovicsMarcellMarcell Jankovics, one of the greatest contemporary Hungarian artists, has been selected as the winner of the Leonardo da Vinci World Award of Arts. He has created hundreds of animated films which showcase his talents as illustrator, graphic designer, scriptwriter and director.  In 1997, he received a Palme d'Or at the Cannes Film Festival for his short film Kuzdok. He became artistic director, then general director of the Pannonia Film Studio, a hotbed of animated film creation. The President of the National Cultural Fund of Hungary, Marcell Jankovics, who is also a member of the Hungarian Academy of Arts, the author of several dozen books and articles on culture, and a teacher at several universities in Hungary, is an eminent purveyor of culture in his country. The World Cultural Council takes pride in rewarding his particularly prolific and multidisciplinary artistic achievements.

World Cultural Council

The World Cultural Council, founded in 1982, is an international organization established in Mexico. Its purpose is to champion the positive use of knowledge for the well-being of mankind and to promote brotherhood and understanding among peoples and nations in a spirit of mutual respect and freedom of opinion and religion. The organization is comprised of several dozen eminent scientists from around the world. 

The World Cultural Council Awards are widely recognized as being among the most prestigious international distinctions.  The Albert Einstein World Award of Science is awarded annually, while the José Vasconcelos World Award of Education and the Leonardo da Vinci World Award of Arts are attributed in alternate years.   

Each year, the World Cultural Council selects a different university worldwide to stage its award ceremony. Last year, this event took place at Princeton University in the United States. The fact that Ulg has been selected to again host the ceremony just five years after first welcoming the WCC attests to the close relationship that has existed between the two institutions since the early 1980's when Prof Pol Swings, a professor of astrophysics from Liège, participated in the creation of this international organization.  Since then, the World Cultural Council has conferred its awards to two professors from the University of Liège. Professor Gilbert de Landsheere received the José Vascocelos World Award of Education in 1988 and Professor Jean-Marie Ghuysen the Albert Einstein World Award of Science in 1997.

Contact(s) :

ULg Relations extérieures et Communication, +32 (0)4 366 52 18,

Print version Page updated on 2016-06-28